Salt to the Sea

By: Miss Luckow

“Salt to the Sea” by Ruta Sepetys has been getting a lot of buzz and good reviews lately, so I wanted to check it out (literally).  I’m happy to report that it deserves all the hype.

“Salt to the Sea” is a historical fiction set in WWII. It’s told from multiple perspectives following the storylines of a German art curator, a young Polish refugee, a Lebanese refugee and a young German soldier. All of their lives and secrets become entwined as they fight for survival.

I loved this story first and foremost for the characters. Each perspective was unique and saltprovided different voices to each character, making you almost instantly care about their fate. The relationships between the characters were heartwarming, at times frustrating, and ultimately truly human.

Sepetys’ writing was gorgeous–it was what first got me sucked into the book. Its organization, consistency and imagery were outstanding.

I had some qualms with the book, the main one being the fact that these characters’ secrets were quite predictable and didn’t have the huge shock factor that I think Sepetys was hoping for. The ending was also incredibly rushed and felt incomplete.

However, the most important part of this book was the historical event that it brought to light. I don’t want to expand on what this historical event was, because I think it’s better to go into the story not knowing. This book taught me about something that I didn’t even know had happened, which is beyond crazy to me. It’s a clearly well-researched book that I think everyone should try to read.

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

